Die vier Tageszeiten: Der Mittag
Moritz von Schwind (1804-1871)

Die vier Tageszeiten: Der Mittag,

um 1860
Material / Technology / Carrier
Öl auf Leinwand
Dimensions of the object
19. Jahrhundert
Inventory number
1869 durch Adolf Friedrich Graf von Schack erworben
Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen - Sammlung Schack München
Moritz von Schwind, Die vier Tageszeiten: Der Mittag, um 1860, Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen - Sammlung Schack München, URL: https://www.sammlung.pinakothek.de/en/artwork/02LAkm84yk (Last updated on 19.06.2023)
Romantic authors and artists seized on the times of day as a way of conveying symbolic messages. The passage of the day from morning to night could be made to represent the development over time of nature and human life. These four circular images, or tondi, reproduce separately the motifs that Schwind had depicted on the frame of his painting Symphony (Neue Pinakothek, Munich).

You may also be interested in the following works of art: