about.header

About

Introduction

Outline

With its Online Collection, the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen (Bavarian State Painting Collections) is making its entire holdings accessible to the public for the first time: that’s 25,000 artworks in Bavaria, Germany and Europe viewable on a single platform! It is now possible to have an overview not only of all the artworks on display in the Munich galleries – the Alte and Neue Pinakothek, the Sammlung Moderne Kunst in the Pinakothek der Moderne, the Museum Brandhorst and the Sammlung Schack – and in the other state galleries of Bavaria (several thousand works in total), but also of works in the museum storerooms (17,000 works) and more than 4000 works on permanent loan from the Munich collections to over 400 sites, some belonging to institutions which are only partly open to the public. 

Every artwork is documented with a photograph, basic information (catalogue/accession number, artist, title, support, size, provenance), and details of its location. The relevant specialist area is also given, to assist with classification.

Information about all the works currently on display is fully up-to-date and reliable. In the case of other works, and works in storage or on permanent loan, the information is usually based on the available catalogue data.

The Online Collection is a live medium; it is constantly being updated and, if necessary, corrected. As in the case of most online publications, the view date should always be included with any information quoted or referenced.

Additional Information

About the illustrations

Because the holdings are so large and so widely dispersed, it is not possible to show all the works in colour. Up until roughly ten years ago, black-and-white photography was the norm at the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, as in many other museums. Since then, black-and-white photographs have gradually been replaced by colour photos, and missing images supplied.

To our great regret, copyright protection prevents us from publishing images of some works by 20th and 21st century artists.

About the accession numbers

The accession numbers are far more than mere administrative reference numbers. They contain important information about the history of the artwork concerned.

One- to five-digit numbers are state inventory numbers. Numbers 1 to 7590 belong to works already in the collection by 1856, when the collection was re-catalogued; the numbering system introduced then is still in use today. By 1900, inv. no. 8170 had been reached; state acquisitions between 1933 and 1945 have inv. nos. 9869 to 10921 (or, in the case of works of sculpture, B 179 to B 258); at the moment, numbers in the 16000s are being allocated.

Gaps in the numbering indicate that items are no longer in the collection: loans which have been returned, works which have been sold, war losses, restitutions.

The most important groups of holdings are:

AK

Endowed by the estate of Alexander Koester

B

Sculpture

BGM

Bayerische Gemeindebank München (now: BayernLB)

EF

Endowed by Sofie and Emanuel Fohn

ESK

Ernst von Siemens Art Foundation

FV

Patrons society: Pinakotheks-Verein zur Förderung der Alten und Neuen Pinakothek

GST

Patrons society: Museumsstiftung zur Förderung der staatlichen Bayerischen Museen (formerly Stiftung des Galerievereins)

GV

PIN. (formerly Galerieverein)

GW

Legacy of Theodor and Woty Werner: drawings and prints

HST

Works placed in the museum’s custody. A highly heterogeneous group of almost 1000 works, of very diverse provenance, is currently under the custodianship the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen. Legal title to these works is unclear. Nevertheless, selected groups are published on this website:

a.) 211 works, not consecutively numbered, discovered by the Allies in the Haus der Kunst in 1945. They were registered at the Central Collecting Point and placed for safekeeping in the storerooms of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen at 10 Arcisstrasse (now Katharina-von Bora-Strasse). Owners could be found for only a few of the works. They are ideologically conformist works of the Nazi period. The paintings were only catalogued and photographed in around 1970.

b.) 280 works, not consecutively numbered, from the storerooms at 10 Arcisstrasse (now Katharina-von Bora-Strasse), whose owners could not be ascertained; their origin is unknown. They were not catalogued and photographed until around 1970. Some of them may have been left over when the Central Collecting Point and the trust administration closed, in which case they may be Nazi-looted artworks. It is also possible, however, that they were placed in the museum’s custody during the Second World War by private collectors and, for a variety of reasons, never reclaimed at the end of the war.

c.) With the exception of the Fritz Winter Foundation, no other works placed in the museum’s custody by private owners are included in the Online Collection, since the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen does not have ownership or copyright over them.

HUW

Bayerische Hypotheken- und Wechselbank (now UniCredit)

KM

Programm der Bayerischen Staatsregierung für Künstler und Publizisten (Bavarian State Programme for Artists and Journalists)

L

Works on loan

MES

Michael and Eleonore Stoffel Foundation

OG

Estate of Olaf Gulbransson

SAP

Siemens Arts Program

TW

Theodor and Woty Werner Bequest

UAB

Udo and Anette Brandhorst Foundation

WAF

Wittelsbach Compensation Fund (established 1923; formerly the private property of the Bavarian royal family

WAF PF

Wittelsbach Compensation Fund, Collection of Duke (formerly Prince) Franz von Bayern

About the artists’ names

Particularly in the case of Old Masters, changing perceptions and new knowledge are constantly leading to re-attributions. After a time, these are usually revised. This is particularly true of the large number of anonymous works in the collection, whose artists are designated only by their nationality (“German”, “French”, etc.) or by their most famous work (“Master of the Heisterbach Altarpiece”, etc.).

About the titles

The picture titles are not based on a predefined lexicon. The same painting may therefore be known by two or more names. Often it makes sense to retain traditional titles, even when these are at variance with the latest scholarship or do not correspond with what is actually depicted. This must be taken into account when searching the catalogue, especially in the case of the collections’ many portraits. Whatever the artistic quality of the painting, the sitter’s identity may not be known with absolute certainty and corrections may be necessary every so often.

About the dates

If the year is given, it means that the work is firmly dated. For undated works, approximate earliest and latest possible dates are given. Where no date is given at all, this may mean that no consensus on dating has yet been reached.

Materials/techniques

For Old Masters, if no chemical analyses have been conducted to give a clear indication of the pigment binder, as a rule only the material of the support is given. Even where “oil” is indicated, this may not have been the only medium used.

Dimensions

For paintings, the dimensions are usually given as height x width in centimetres; for drawings, prints and photographs, measurements are in millimetres; for sculptures, the dimension of depth is also given. In the case of photographs, separate measurements are usually indicated for the image size and the size of the photographic paper.

Provenance

In this field, the acquisition data are given in a standard set of abbreviations: year, type (purchase, gift, legacy, held in trust, etc.) and provenance. Here, too, there may be more than one version of the provenance but usually any decision to give alternative versions is deliberate. If an item of information is missing, for instance the accession date, this may mean that it has not yet been confirmed by research.

Information about the provenance of paintings from the galleries of the old Bavarian Electoral Palatinate and the palaces in Schleissheim, Munich, Dachau, Neuburg, Zweibrücken (Schloss Karlsberg), Mannheim, Düsseldorf etc., may not include dates. Although these Old-Master holdings, comprising over 4,000 works, appear in the catalogue, they were entered against the year 1923, the year of the State Treaty when the Wittelsbach State Foundation for Art and Science was set up, along with the Wittelsbach Compensation Fund.

In the case of works from monasteries closed during the period between 1802 and 1816 when the German ecclesiastical states were secularised under French influence, the actual places of origin are only indicated if they are known. Some items, for example those from the residences of the prince-bishops, were only catalogued decades after their accession.

“Transfers of government-owned property” have occurred on a number of occasions. They involve works which were at one time under the stewardship of various state institutions and only later handed over to the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen. A good example is a group of artworks which were loaned to the University of Landshut in the early 19th century. They were not retained in the central gallery catalogue and were re-entered in 1937 as former property.  

Also belonging to this category are artworks which formed part of the assets confiscated from National Socialist functionaries and organisations. These artworks and cultural objects were assembled by the Allies at Central Collecting Points, where investigations were conducted to determine whether they had been looted, primarily from former Jewish owners. From 1948 the American military government handed over stewardship of these artworks to the Bavarian Minister-President and in the 1950s and 1960s, in accordance with Allied directives, any which had still not been or could not be restored to their rightful owners were transferred to the Free State of Bavaria. Eventually, around 900 of these art objects were assigned by the ministry responsible, the Bavarian Ministry of Finance, to the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen and incorporated into our catalogue. These holdings are currently undergoing provenance research by the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen’s own dedicated provenance research team. If there is any possibility that an object may have been looted by the Nazis, it is entered in the database at www.lostart.de. This database is continually being updated.

See also the section on catalogue numbers.

Location

Information about the location of the artworks is limited to details of the institution where they are to be found. Paintings on public display are marked “on view”.  Works on permanent loan to public institutions (ministries, embassies, municipal institutions, etc.) are simply marked “Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen München”, since for obvious reasons access to them is only possible in cases of a proven professional interest and can only be arranged via the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen.

Specialist area

Details of the specialist area responsible for each artwork helps to categorise it in the absence of dates and also indicates where any enquiries should be addressed:

Early German painting                   
1300–1550

Early Netherlandish painting        
1300–1550

German 2                                   
1550–1780

Flemish painting                      
1550–1780

French painting                 
1400–1780

Dutch painting                 
1550–1780

Italian painting                    
1300–1780

Spanish painting                      
1500–1780

19th century                          
1780–1900

20th/21st century                    
1900–today

about.header

Präambel

Vorbemerkung

Mit der Online-Sammlung machen die Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen erstmals ihren gesamten Bestand zugänglich: 25.000 Kunstwerke in Bayern, Deutschland und Europa auf einer Plattform! Es ist damit allen Interessenten möglich, sich nicht nur einen Überblick über die ausgestellten Kunstwerke der Münchner Häuser – Alte und Neue Pinakothek, Sammlung Moderne Kunst in der Pinakothek der Moderne, Museum Brandhorst, Sammlung Schack – und den Staatsgalerien in Bayern zu verschaffen (alles zusammen mehrere Tausend Werke), sondern auch über die deponierten Bestände (17.000 Werke) und mehr als 4.000 Dauerleihgaben aus den Münchener Beständen, die sich an mehr als 400 Standorten in teils öffentlich zugänglichen Einrichtungen befinden.

Jedes Kunstwerk ist mit einem Objektfoto, den Basisdaten – Inventarnummer, Künstler, Titel, Bildträger, Maße, Herkunft – und dem Standort dokumentiert; die Angabe des jeweiligen Fachreferats erleichtert die Einordnung.

Die Angaben zu den öffentlich ausgestellten Werken dürfen hohe Zuverlässigkeit beanspruchen. Die Angaben zu den übrigen Werken, Depotbeständen und Dauerleihgaben basieren in der Regel auf den verfügbaren Inventarinformationen.

Die Online-Sammlung ist ein lebendiges Medium; sie wird laufend aktualisiert und gegebenenfalls korrigiert. Wie bei allen Online-Veröffentlichungen üblich, sollten Zitate und Verweise immer mit dem Tagesdatum versehen werden.

Zu den Abbildungen

Aufgrund der Größe und der weiten Streuung des Bestands können nicht alle Werke in Farbe gezeigt werden. Bis vor gut zehn Jahren war die Schwarzweißfotografie in den Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen wie in vielen anderen Museen Standard. Seitdem werden nach und die Schwarzweißabbildungen gegen Farbaufnahmen ausgetauscht und fehlende Abbildungen ergänzt.

Zu unserem großen Bedauern dürfen aus Gründen des Urheberschutzes nicht alle Werke von Künstlern des 20./21. Jahrhunderts abgebildet werden.

Zu den Inventarnummern

Die Inventarnummern sind weit mehr als nur Verwaltungsnummern. Sie beinhalten wichtige Informationen über die Geschichte eines Kunstwerks.

Ein- bis fünfziffrige Nummern weisen auf das Staatsinventar hin. Alle Nummern bis 7590 befanden sich bereits bei der 1856 vorgenommenen maßgeblichen Neuinventarisierung im Bestand; die Zählung wird bis heute fortgeführt. Im Jahr 1900 war die Inv.-Nr. 8170 erreicht; die Staatserwerbungen zwischen 1933 und 1945 erhielten die Inv.-Nrn. 9869-10921 (für plastische Werke sind dies die B 179 – B 258); derzeit werden 16000er-Nummern vergeben.

Lücken in der Zählung deuten auf Abgänge hin: zurückgegebene Leihgaben, Veräußerungen, Kriegsverluste, Restitutionen.

Die wichtigsten Bestandsgruppen sind:

AK

Schenkung aus dem Nachlass Alexander Koester

B

Plastik

BGM

Bayerische  Gemeindebank München (heute: BayernLB)

EF

Schenkung Sofie und Emanuel Fohn

ESK

Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung

FV

Pinakotheks-Verein zur Förderung der Alten und Neuen Pinakothek

GST

Museumsstiftung zur Förderung der staatlichen Bayerischen Museen (ehem. Stiftung des Galerievereins)

GV

PIN. (ehem. Galerieverein)

GW

Vermächtnis Theodor und Woty Werner: Grafik

HST

Hinterstellungen. Die bei den Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen untergebrachten derzeit knapp 1.000 Hinterstellungen sind ein sehr heterogener Bestand unterschiedlichster Herkunft. Ihr Status im Sinne des Eigentumsrechts ist ungesichert. Dennoch werden ausgewählte Gruppen an dieser Stelle veröffentlicht:

a.) 211 nicht fortlaufend gezählte Werke, die 1945 von den Alliierten im Haus der Kunst vorgefunden wurden, im Central Collecting Point registriert und im Depot der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen an der Arcisstraße 10 (heute Katharina-von Bora-Straße) hinterstellt wurden. Es handelt sich um ideologiekonforme Werke der Zeit; Eigentümer konnten nur in wenigen Fällen gefunden werden. Erfasst und fotografiert wurden sie erst um 1970.

b.) 280 nicht fortlaufend gezählte Werke aus dem Depot der Arcisstraße 10 (heute Katharina-von Bora-Straße), deren Eigentümer nicht ermittelt werden konnten; ihre Herkunft ist unbekannt. Erfasst und fotografiert wurden auch sie erst um 1970. Nicht auszuschließen ist, dass sich darunter auch Restbestände des Central Collecting Point und der Treuhandverwaltung befinden, somit auch Werke, für die Raubkunstverdacht bestehen kann, möglicherweise aber auch Kunstwerke, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg auf Wunsch von Privatsammlern geborgen und bei Kriegsende aus verschiedensten Gründen nicht zurückgefordert wurden.

c.) Mit Ausnahme der Fritz-Winter-Stiftung sind weitere Hinterstellungen von privater Seite nicht Bestandteil der Online-Sammlung, da die Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen keinerlei Rechte bzw. Eigentum daran besitzen.

HUW

Bayerische Hypotheken- und Wechselbank (heute UniCredit)

KM

Programm der Bayerischen Staatsregierung für Künstler und Publizisten

L

Leihnahmen

MES

Michael und Eleonore Stoffel-Stiftung

OG

Nachlass Olaf Gulbransson

SAP

Siemens Arts Program

TW

Vermächtnis Theodor und Woty Werner

UAB

Udo und Anette Brandhorst-Stiftung

WAF

Wittelsbacher Ausgleichsfonds (1923 gegründet; ehemals königliches Hausgut)

WAF PF

Wittelsbacher Ausgleichsfonds, Sammlung Herzog (ehem. Prinz) Franz von Bayern

Zu den Künstlernamen

Besonders im Bereich der Alten Meister kann es aufgrund sich verändernder Sichtweisen und des fachlichen Wissenszuwachses immer wieder zu Neuzuschreibungen kommen. Diese werden in der Regel nach einiger Zeit nachgearbeitet. Besonders gilt dies für den großen Bestand anonymer Werke, die geographisch („Deutsch“, „Französisch“ usw.) oder mit Hilfe von sogenannten Notnamen („Meister des Heisterbacher Altars“ usw.) bezeichnet werden.

Zu den Titeln

Die Bildtitel basieren nicht auf einem vordefinierten Thesaurus. Für dasselbe Sujet kann es also möglicherweise zwei oder mehr Varianten geben. Oftmals ist es sinnvoll, traditionelle Titel beizubehalten, auch wenn diese von neueren Erkenntnissen oder dem gegenständlichen Befund abweichen. Dies ist bei der Suche zu berücksichtigen. Besonders für den großen Bestand an Bildnissen gilt, dass – abhängig auch von der künstlerischen Qualität – die Dargestellten nicht immer mit letzter Sicherheit zu identifizieren sind, weshalb mit regelmäßigem Korrekturbedarf zu rechnen ist.

Zur Datierung

Die Angabe einer Jahreszahl deutet auf ein fest datiertes Werk hin. Undatierte Werke erhalten annähernde Eingrenzungen; deren Fehlen kann auf eine noch nicht abgeschlossene Meinungsbildung hindeuten.

Material/Technik

Angegeben ist im Altmeisterbestand, sofern keine eindeutigen chemischen Analysen der Bindemittel vorliegen, in der Regel nur der Bildträger. Auch wenn „Öl“ angegeben ist, kann es sich um Mischtechniken handeln.

Maßangaben

Bei Gemälden erfolgt die Maßangabe in der Regel als Höhe x Breite in Zentimetern, bei Graphik und Fotografie in Millimetern; bei Skulpturen tritt das Tiefenmaß hinzu. Bei Fotografien werden in der Regel Bildmaß und Blattmaß unterschieden.

Herkunft

In diesem Feld sind in formelhafter Kürze die Erwerbungsdaten zu erwarten: Jahr, Art (Ankauf, Schenkung, Vermächtnis, Überweisung etc.) und Herkunft. Auch hier kann es Varianten derselben Herkunft geben, die aber in der Regel bewusst unterschiedlich gehalten sind. Fehlt zum Beispiel die Jahresangabe, kann das auf die noch fehlende wissenschaftliche Absicherung der Angabe hindeuten.

Die Hinweise auf die Herkunft von Gemälden aus den älteren kurpfalzbayerischen Galerien und Schlössern in Schleißheim, München, Dachau, Neuburg, Zweibrücken (Schloss Karlsberg), Mannheim, Düsseldorf usw. kann mit und ohne Jahreszahl erfolgen. Diese mehr als 4.000 Werke umfasssenden Altmeisterbestände sind zwar im Staatsinventar eingetragen, wurden aber entsprechend dem Staatsvertrag von 1923 der Wittelsbacher Landesstiftung zugewiesen, die in jenem Jahr analog zum Wittelsbacher Ausgleichfonds gegründet wurde.

Bei Säkularisationsgut aus den aufgehobenen Klöstern aus der Zeit zwischen 1802 bis 1816 wurden die konkreten Herkunftsorte je nach Kenntnisstand angegeben; Nachinventarisierungen, zum Beispiel aus den fürstbischöflichen Residenzen, sind noch Jahrzehnte später vorgekommen.

„Überweisungen aus Staatsbesitz“ hat es mehrfach gegeben. Darunter sind Überweisungen zu verstehen, die sich zwar in der Verwaltung verschiedener staatlicher Einrichtungen befunden haben, aber erst sekundär den Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen überstellt wurden. Ein Musterbeispiel dafür sind die Nachinventarisierungen etlicher Kunstwerke, die im frühen 19. Jahrhundert als Leihgaben an die Universität Landshut gegeben wurden, in den Inventaren der Zentralgemäldegalerie nicht fortgeführt und 1937 als altes Eigentum nachinventarisiert wurden.

Zu den Überweisungen aus Staatsbesitz gehören auch Kunstwerke aus den eingezogenen Vermögensteilen von Funktionären und Organisationen der NSDAP. Die Kunst- und Kulturgegenstände aus diesen Beständen wurden von den Alliierten in Central Collecting Points zusammengeführt und auf Raubkunstverdacht untersucht. Ab 1948 übertrug die amerikanische Militärregierung die treuhänderische Verwaltung dieser Kunstwerke auf den bayerischen Ministerpräsidenten, ehe die nicht restituierten oder restituierbaren Werke gemäß alliierter Direktiven in den 1950er- und 1960er-Jahren dem Freistaat Bayern übereignet wurden. Rund 900 dieser Kunstgegenstände sind schließlich über das zuständige Bayerische Finanzministerium an die Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen gelangt und hier inventarisiert worden; dieser Bestand wird derzeit von den Provenienzforschern der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen untersucht. Objekte, für die nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann, dass es sich um NS-Raubkunst handelt, werden in die Datenbank www.lostart.de eingestellt – dies ist ein fortlaufend aktualisierter Vorgang.

Siehe auch im Abschnitt „Inventarnummern“.

Standort

Die Standorte beschränken sich auf die Angabe des Hauses, in dem sich die Objekte befinden. Der Galeriebestand ist durch den Vermerk „Ausgestellt“ kenntlich gemacht. Bei Dauerleihgaben, die an öffentliche Einrichtungen (Ministerien, Botschaften, kommunale Einrichtungen usw.) vergeben sind, wird lediglich die Angabe „Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen München“ verzeichnet, da der Zugang zu diesen Werken aus naheliegenden Gründen nur bei fachlich begründetem Interesse und ausschließlich durch Vermittlung der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen möglich ist.

Fachreferat

Die Angabe des jeweils zuständigen Fachreferates erleichtert die Einordnung der Werke bei fehlender Datierung und gibt bei Nachfragen einen Hinweis auf den Adressaten:

Altdeutsche Malerei                   
1300-1550

Altniederländische Malerei        
1300-1550

Deutsch 2                                   
1550-1780

Flämische Malerei                      
1550-1780

Französische Malerei                 
1400-1780

Holländische Malerei                 
1550-1780

Italienische Malerei                    
1300-1780

Spanische Malerei                      
1500-1780

19. Jahrhundert                          
1780-1900

20./21. Jahrhundert                    
1900- heute